923 edmund ave
st paul, MN 55104
Get directions

About Us

The Soul Tight Committee is a ten piece band whose members have found a common love for the old school soul, R & B and dance music of the 70's. The band's mission: to provide our listeners with the very best soul and dance music of that decade in a lively and engaging stage show.

Soul Tight has been performing at night clubs, festivals, weddings and corporate functions in the Minneapolis / St. Paul greater metro area for the past several years, with it's roots extending back to 1991. Regulars at such clubs as Minnesota Music Cafe and Bunkers. The Soul Tight Committee continues to be a consistent draw.

The band features three very distinct and experienced voices in Maurice Jacox, Kathleen Johnson and Michelle Carter. Their diverse vocal qualities give the band a range and depth of character unique in today's music market. Add to that the energy and charisma of their performance, and audiences are held captive!

Soul Tight builds its sound on a solid yet passionate groove, featuring Mario Dawson (drums), Rey Rivera (percussion), and Eric Hohn (bass). The celebrated guitar work of Blair Krivanek and the solid presence of Bob Pontious on keyboards add color to the music, as well as some truly engaging solos. To top it all off, The Committee employs the amazing talents of a small yet powerful horn section with John Bertsch on the saxophone and Joe Morrissey on trumpet and flugal horn.

The band and its members have been nominees of numerous Minnesota Music Awards and in 2001 walked away with the award for "Best Cover Band". Maurice Jacox also won the award for "Best Jazz Musician". The band itself has been noted in The Minneapolis Star Tribune, City Pages, St. Paul Pioneer Press and Rolling Stone magazine as "Godfathers (and Mothers!) of Soul " and "One of the top R&B/Funk bands in the Upper Midwest ".